Thread: GitHub- can't push

Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1 GitHub- can't push 
    Motivation is your best friend
    geordie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    750
    Thanks given
    3
    Thanks received
    19
    Rep Power
    0
    So i'm pretty new to GitHub and i had everything setup until it randomly decided to stop working like a piece of shit. So my partner can't get my updates and vice versa. Any help is appreciated. I need someone who is experienced with GitHub to give me some pointers.

    http://prntscr.com/dwdy72
    Reply With Quote  
     

  2. #2  
    Donator


    Join Date
    Oct 2015
    Posts
    232
    Thanks given
    187
    Thanks received
    85
    Rep Power
    1516
    Use an app called SourceTree. It helps a lot with pushing/pulling from git and offers a variety of tools. First link on Google.

    Also, to your post, just look up on Google:
    1.Configure the 'fetch' to fetch the branch you originally pulled from.
    2.Fetch the remote branch.
    3.Merge that remote branch onto your local branch.
    4.Commit the (merge) change in your local repo.
    5.Push the change to the remote repo.
    Spoiler for Lolz:
    Attached image
    [Today 06:47 PM] Rusko: Shut uo ethernet ur moms a whore


    Reply With Quote  
     

  3. #3  
    Motivation is your best friend
    geordie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    750
    Thanks given
    3
    Thanks received
    19
    Rep Power
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Ethernet View Post
    Use an app called SourceTree. It helps a lot with pushing/pulling from git and offers a variety of tools. First link on Google.

    Also, to your post, just look up on Google:
    1.Configure the 'fetch' to fetch the branch you originally pulled from.
    2.Fetch the remote branch.
    3.Merge that remote branch onto your local branch.
    4.Commit the (merge) change in your local repo.
    5.Push the change to the remote repo.
    Thank you I'll venture into your information later on. Much appreciated
    Reply With Quote  
     

  4. #4  
    Respected Member


    George's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    7,099
    Thanks given
    2,226
    Thanks received
    3,146
    Rep Power
    5000
    Did you pull yet.
    Attached image

    Spoiler for Spoilers!:
    Attached image
    Attached image
    Attached image
    Attached image
    Reply With Quote  
     

  5. #5  
    Registered Member

    Join Date
    Sep 2016
    Posts
    384
    Thanks given
    1
    Thanks received
    117
    Rep Power
    311
    Key pointer - Always remember to pull then push. Otherwise, you would create conflicts along the way. I would also recommend to use gitbash and learn the features from that cus eGit is just rubbish in my opinion.
    Reply With Quote  
     

  6. #6  
    Motivation is your best friend
    geordie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    750
    Thanks given
    3
    Thanks received
    19
    Rep Power
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Idiot Bird View Post
    Did you pull yet.
    Yes.

    Quote Originally Posted by Adam A View Post
    Key pointer - Always remember to pull then push. Otherwise, you would create conflicts along the way. I would also recommend to use gitbash and learn the features from that cus eGit is just rubbish in my opinion.
    I usually do.
    Reply With Quote  
     

  7. #7  
    sυввч

    Sub's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Age
    24
    Posts
    4,352
    Thanks given
    1,205
    Thanks received
    359
    Rep Power
    2845
    That message means that other changes have been pushed to the remote repository which differ from yours (i.e. you have an older version). To solve this you first need to do a "pull" which will get the changes in the repo and apply them to your local repo.

    If you use something like SourceTree (as someone mentioned above) or TortoiseGit you can shelve your changes, pull, un-shelve and then merge them. Sometimes Git might have trouble merging your changes so you have to do them manually.
    Reply With Quote  
     

  8. #8  
    Motivation is your best friend
    geordie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    750
    Thanks given
    3
    Thanks received
    19
    Rep Power
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Sub View Post
    That message means that other changes have been pushed to the remote repository which differ from yours (i.e. you have an older version). To solve this you first need to do a "pull" which will get the changes in the repo and apply them to your local repo.

    If you use something like SourceTree (as someone mentioned above) or TortoiseGit you can shelve your changes, pull, un-shelve and then merge them. Sometimes Git might have trouble merging your changes so you have to do them manually.
    Thank you, i'm slowly learning..
    Reply With Quote  
     


Thread Information
Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)


User Tag List

Similar Threads

  1. Can we push a Custom Type Object on Stack Operand in BCEL?
    By zareefaryal in forum Application Development
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 06-06-2011, 08:37 PM
  2. 2Fast Can be 2Furious
    By Bullet in forum Showcase
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 06-02-2007, 02:31 AM
Posting Permissions
  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •