Thread: How to Java the short version.

1. #1 How to Java the short version. 
    Registered Member
    Thanks given
    Thanks received
    Hello, I am a veteran developer with over 10 years experience in Java and specifically originating in the creation of RSPS servers my goal here is to write a brief
    yet hopefully illuminating article on Java for beginners

Note: This article is based only upon my understanding and experience and I'm not the best at explaining things although I have my moments.
    If you understand better then me or have a simpler way to rephrase this then please feel free to reformat my thread and send me a paste bin link via pm

Spoiler for Is this for you?:

Are you a new Java developer who has probably downloaded a file and had some success understanding how code works? THEN YES!

Note: THIS IS NOT A COMPLETE GUIDE ON JAVA JAVA IS A LANGUAGE THERE IS NO 5 MINUTE QUICK FIX.

However with that said I hope this can illuminate one or two of the things I personally got stuck on when I started coding from RSPS servers (Yes the bad method open and read.)
    With time and much help I learned and struggled through and now want to provide a small shortcut.

Spoiler for Basic terminology:

API - An API is a collection of code usually presented in the form of a non executable jar file didn't you ever wonder why the words
    System.out.println(); were so magical anyways? They aren't! This to is part of a API included by default in Java.

There will be a link to Java's default API at the bottom of this article in resources!

void() boolean() int() double() etc... - These are all return types a void is a method that runs the code inside the brackets when called.

public private - these are types of visibilities if something in the cat class is marked as private even if its private static you won't be able to call it