Thread: How to set your environmental variables

Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1 How to set your environmental variables 
    lurkin about

    Haywire's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    1,277
    Thanks given
    610
    Thanks received
    230
    Rep Power
    383
    If this is in the wrong section please move it

    My friends always have a hard time finding the correct video or tutorial. So i decided to make this

    Step1. Make sure you have the latest java and jdk versions.

    Step2. Go to My Computer/System properties/Advanced. Once here, look for Environmental Variables



    After opening your environmental variables window, hit new.



    After hitting new, a small box should pop up.
    Copy and paste these into the boxes

    For Variable name =
    Code:
    CLASSPATH
    For variable value =
    Code:
    CLASSPATH=C:\Program Files\Java\jdk1.7.0_05\bin;%CLASSPATH%;
    After completed, hit Ok then hit New again.
    Copy and paste these into the boxes

    For Variable name =
    Code:
    Path
    For variable value =
    Code:
    C:\Program Files\Java\jdk1.7.0_05\bin;
    After that, hit Ok. Make sure you are using your up to date jdk paths. So on 64bit systems they may varie.
    I hope this tutorial helped! Please correct any mistakes

    Happy coding!

    Reply With Quote  
     

  2. Thankful user:


  3. #2  
    I'm secretly a carrot named 3arl.

    Mainframe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Age
    26
    Posts
    1,422
    Thanks given
    542
    Thanks received
    214
    Rep Power
    147
    This is a little too basic for a tutorial -.0 good job though I suppose.
    Reply With Quote  
     

  4. #3  
    Ignorance is always an excuse

    Mikee's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    2,370
    Thanks given
    732
    Thanks received
    490
    Rep Power
    656
    You should explain more in depth, but if it helps a noob then I guess it's served it's purpose.



    The day Aj repped me, my life changed forever
    Quote Originally Posted by Aj View Post
    Rep++ for you
    Reply With Quote  
     

  5. #4  
    lurkin about

    Haywire's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    1,277
    Thanks given
    610
    Thanks received
    230
    Rep Power
    383
    Idk if i can get in any more depth than that. And yes, it's obviously for noobs lol.

    Reply With Quote  
     

  6. #5  
    lurkin about

    Haywire's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    1,277
    Thanks given
    610
    Thanks received
    230
    Rep Power
    383
    Updated it.

    Reply With Quote  
     

  7. #6  
    Donator


    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Posts
    921
    Thanks given
    199
    Thanks received
    178
    Rep Power
    189
    Or you could edit it on System Variables and then edit the path, add a ; to the end of the line and put your jdk bin directory.
    Reply With Quote  
     

  8. #7  
    Registered Member XxNinjaxX's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    344
    Thanks given
    5
    Thanks received
    7
    Rep Power
    0
    fixed nvm
    Reply With Quote  
     


Thread Information
Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)


User Tag List

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 9
    Last Post: 03-03-2012, 11:33 AM
  2. [Java] Update CLASSPATH/Environmental Variables
    By Morpheus in forum Website Development
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 07-27-2010, 05:21 AM
  3. Vista Environmental Variables
    By LKOD Jake in forum Help
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 11-18-2009, 07:13 PM
  4. environmental variables vps
    By MkDallas in forum Hosting
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 09-14-2009, 10:08 PM
  5. Environmental variables for vista
    By LKOD Jake in forum Requests
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 08-11-2009, 07:13 PM
Posting Permissions
  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •