Thread: Thread error when changing between dialogues.

Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1 Thread error when changing between dialogues. 
    Registered Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Posts
    50
    Thanks given
    2
    Thanks received
    1
    Rep Power
    11
    I have been coding my quests for over 3 months now with no issues with dialogue. All of a sudden I'm getting this error when my dialogue changes from case 19 to 20:
    Code:
                            case 19:
    				player.getItemAssistant().deleteItem(683, 1);
    				sendNpcChat1("Good good, we will begin the exam...",
    							player.talkingNpc, "Examiner");
    				player.digQuest = 3;
    				QuestAssistant.sendStages(player);
    				player.nextChat = 20; 
    				break;
    			case 20:
    				sendNpcChat2("Okay, we will start with the first exam: Earth Sciences",
    								"level 1  Beginner.",
    								player.talkingNpc, "Examiner", Constants.DEFAULT);	
    				player.nextChat = 21;
    				break;
    The error arises when i press "continue" and this error appears:

    Code:
    Exception in thread "Thread-3" java.lang.ArrayIndexOutOfBoundsException: 8211
        at TextDrawingArea.getTextWidth(TextDrawingArea.java:99)
        at TextDrawingArea.method382(TextDrawingArea.java:87)
        at Game.drawInterface(Game.java:7996)
        at Game.drawChatArea(Game.java:364)
        at Game.drawGameScreen(Game.java:7565)
        at Game.processDrawing(Game.java:8366)
        at RSApplet.run(RSApplet.java:127)
        at Game.run(Game.java:4265)
        at java.lang.Thread.run(Unknown Source)
    I have no idea why this keeps happening.

    I want to repeat I have had no error in 3 months of doing this (have coded Desert Treasure, etc.). But now I get this, and I can't continue coding due to it.

    Why is this happening?

    Thanks.
    Reply With Quote  
     

  2. #2  
    Extreme Donator


    Rythe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2019
    Age
    28
    Posts
    355
    Thanks given
    293
    Thanks received
    165
    Discord
    View profile
    Rep Power
    555
    Add me and we can fix this
    Reply With Quote  
     

  3. #3  
    Registered Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Posts
    50
    Thanks given
    2
    Thanks received
    1
    Rep Power
    11
    Quote Originally Posted by idrc View Post
    Add me and we can fix this
    Added
    Reply With Quote  
     

  4. #4  
    All you gotta do is speak on Ye

    Jay Gatsby's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Posts
    2,264
    Thanks given
    1,054
    Thanks received
    1,638
    Discord
    View profile
    Rep Power
    5000
    Quote Originally Posted by idrc View Post
    Add me and we can fix this
    It's great that you are willing to help someone - would you be happy to post the solution here once you've resolved it? Just so people can see for future reference what the issue was.

    Quote Originally Posted by combatx View Post
    Kris let me help your undeveloped mind set, I need new opcodes to support the 184 version?
    Quote Originally Posted by z3rk3ms View Post
    Do not try to treat us like idiots, you will be clowned and then smacked.
    Quote Originally Posted by Hitsplat317 View Post
    I've recently Purchased a Launcher, obviously it's came as a .psd





    Reply With Quote  
     

  5. #5  
    Extreme Donator


    Rythe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2019
    Age
    28
    Posts
    355
    Thanks given
    293
    Thanks received
    165
    Discord
    View profile
    Rep Power
    555
    Quote Originally Posted by Jay Gatsby View Post
    It's great that you are willing to help someone - would you be happy to post the solution here once you've resolved it? Just so people can see for future reference what the issue was.
    This is generally what I do to resolve any problem. Ill post fix when I get to helping this fella, but this is where I look for anyone that wants to learn to!

    I look at three spots each time it prints an error. People will laugh at me for my way of finding problems but it works!

    Exception in thread "Thread-3" java.lang.ArrayIndexOutOfBoundsException: 8211
    at TextDrawingArea.getTextWidth(TextDrawingArea.java: 99)
    at TextDrawingArea.method382(TextDrawingArea.java:87)
    at Game.drawInterface(Game.java:7996)
    at Game.drawChatArea(Game.java:364)
    at Game.drawGameScreen(Game.java:7565)
    at Game.processDrawing(Game.java:8366)
    at RSApplet.run(RSApplet.java:127)
    at Game.run(Game.java:4265)
    at java.lang.Thread.run(Unknown Source)
    Normally eclipse will take you right to the declaration when you click error above. What I'll do normally is eclipse search 8211 and see what it belongs to, what it handles etc. trying to make sense here to help anyone

    But thats generally how you pin point the problem... im still learning myself but if someone posts the fix before me then amen!

    Once I start helping him I'll be able to get more in depth

    Can OP give me his discord however?
    Last edited by Rythe; 03-26-2021 at 07:48 PM.
    Reply With Quote  
     

  6. Thankful user:



Thread Information
Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)


User Tag List

Similar Threads

  1. Error when changing login background
    By Format in forum Help
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 12-24-2013, 06:14 PM
  2. t2 error when changing teleport name
    By NoChildSupport in forum Help
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 10-12-2013, 10:55 AM
  3. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 08-29-2013, 01:24 AM
  4. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 08-14-2012, 12:44 PM
  5. 100 Errors when changing command rights..
    By pillowfight in forum Help
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 07-20-2009, 11:26 PM
Posting Permissions
  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •